22 May 2018

MINISTER for Veterans’ Affairs Darren Chester today announced the appointment of Liz Cosson AM CSC to the role of President of the Repatriation Commission.

Liz CossonsMs Cosson’s appointment occurs concurrent to her appointment as Secretary of the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
“With her extensive experience in the military and public service Ms Cosson is well qualified to fill this important role which is integral to supporting and honouring our nation’s current and former-serving Australian Defence Force community,” Mr Chester said.
“Ms Cosson will be the first female Repatriation Commission President in the nation’s history, and as we move into our second century of service, it is more important than ever that we focus on the challenges facing the 21st-century veteran community,” said Mr Chester.
“I congratulate Ms Cosson on her appointment and I look forward to working closely with her in the years to come.”

The President of the Repatriation Commission plays an important role in deciding policy affecting Australia’s veterans, and is instrumental in translating Government policy decision into action.
Historically, the President of the Repatriation Commission and the Secretary of the Department of Veterans’ Affairs have been the same person, ensuring the Department’s strategic direction is complemented by deep policy expertise.

The Repatriation Commission in its current form was established on 1 July 1920 by the proclamation of the Australian Soldiers’ Repatriation Act 1920 and the department recently celebrated its 100th Anniversary.
Information about the Repatriation Commission, including Membership can be found at